Gardening Guide

Starting a garden and growing your own vegetables can be rewarding and there are now many neighborhood garden sites. Slow Food encourages you to start a garden and we have provided you a guide to assist you in the process.

School Garden Guide

From design, implementation and curriculum to fundraising, volunteers and school policy, this comprehensive “how-to” guide provided by Slow Food USA offers a clear roadmap for developing a successful school garden program in any community.
School Garden Guide

Community gardens in your Philly neighborhood

https://phsonline.org/programs/garden-tenders/community-gardens-map

Resources to help you learn more about gardening

The Horticultural Society offers classes so check out their calendar.
www.pennsylvaniahorticulturalsociety.org/garden/index.html

Pennsylvania Association for Sustainable Agriculture
www.pasafarming.org/calendar-of-events

Garden Forever This site was sent to us from a local school teacher. A great portal with lots of great articles, tips, and books on gardening. www.gardenforever.com

The Greenhouse Gardening Guide http://www.proflowers.com/blog/greenhouse-gardening-guide

The Beginner’s Guide to Gardening and Landscaping http://www.sodgod.com/gardening-basics/

Turning your garden into an organic garden

www.organicgardentips.com
www.organic-gardening.net

Radio Program & Website

You Bet Your Garden Mike McGrath has a great radio program on WHYY every Saturday morning and you can also view his webpage for answers to questions and resource information.
www.whyy.org/91FM/ybyg/

Great seed catalogs, some with organic seeds

Growjoy organic seedlings, plants, shrubs, wholesale available www.growjoy.com
The Garlic Store www.thegarlicstore.com
Peace Valley Farm Supply organic seeds and supplies www.groworganic.com
Dixondale Farms family owned, conventional farmed onion and shallot sets www.dixondalefarms.com
Wood Prairie Family Farm seed potatoes, cover crop seeds, and organic vegetable seeds www.woodprairie.com
Seeds of Change www.seedsofchange.com
The Cooks Garden www.cooksgarden.com
The Seed Savers Exchange (Rare & Heirloom Seed Exchange) www.seedsavers.org

Organic Garden Supplies

Gardens Alive www.gardensalive.com

Mushroom Kits

Fungi Perfecti www.fungi.com

Beekeeping Supplies & Resource Websites

Philadelphia Beekeepers Association phillybeekeepers.org
Pennsylvania Beekeepers Association www.pastatebeekeepers.org
NJ Beekeepers Associaiton www.njbeekeepers.org
Beekeeping Supply Catalog / Dadant & sons, Inc www.dadant.com

Raising Chickens

COOP is a cooperative of chicken owners living in the greater Philadelphia region. We purchase feed together, we share chicken stories together. We need more Philadelphia chickens! Wanna join? www.chickenowners.com

Comments are closed.